The antic town of Sarrebourg « Pons Saravi » settled at the beginning of the 1st Century A.D where the roman road Metz-Strasburg crossed the Saar River (presence of a wooded bridge from this period in the street Bildstein).
Under the current heart of the city, remain still vestiges of houses which were built at first of earth, wood and then stone. In the last century, searches of a sanctuary dedicated to the god Mithra made it possible to discover a magnificent bas-relief (preserved in the Metz Museum.) The city still seems very active in late antiquity.
In the high Middle-Age, the city was the hub of a Frankish county and produced currency. A Merovingian necropolis is attested in the location of the market place. Sarrebourg became then ownership of the bishops of Metz who fortified it powerfully. Under the protection of the duke of Lorraine from 1464, the town was finally annexed to France in 1661. During all this period, it knew a remarkable prosperity, and has been given the nickname of “Kaufmann-Saarburg” (Sarrebourg the merchant). An active home of Christianization established in the town (many Franciscan, Capuchin, Dominican orders, churches and chapels).
After a long time of stagnation from the 17th century, Sarrebourg could benefit at the beginning of the 19th century of a new upswing. The construction of the railway in 1852 only adds to its dynamism. In 1871, Sarrebourg is annexed to Prussian. Until 1914, following the extension of the military function, the construction of many buildings, or even entire districts, strongly influenced the urban landscape.
Nowadays, Sarrebourg has changed but still is a dynamic city which keeps all its personality by highlighting its bimillenary heritage.
Link (in french only) : http://www.sarrebourg.fr/